top of page

Almond Cake

Do you have a favorite recipe that you forgot about? That is what this recipe is for me!

I got this recipe was when I still was in college from one of the sweetest lady. I use to work dinner parties for her to earn extra money. She taught me so many things. That a host only gets dressed 15 mins before her guest arrive. That everything can go in the dishwasher except things with gold leaf. Most importantly, serve the expensive wine and liquor first and the cheaper stuff as the night goes on!

On one of my last dinner parties I was working she handed me this funny cake pan and a recipe card for a Scandinavian Almond Cake. She told me that this is the perfect for any meal and she was right! 

When I serve it as an actual dessert, I serve it with homemade whipped cream and fresh berries but usually my husband and I love it in the morning with our coffee! 

The recipe is so easy! Here it goes:

Preheat oven to 350

Spray pan with Pam or cooking spray

Beat well:


1 1/4 cup sugar 


1 egg


2 tsp of pure almond extract 


2/3 cup of milk 

Add and mix:


1 1/4 cup flour


1/2 tsp baking powder

Add and mix


1 stick of melted margarine 

Mix well. Before pouring batter into the pan, sprinkle sliced almonds on the bottom.

Bake at 350 for 40-50 mins. Edges must be golden brown. Cool in pan before attempting to remove and if you do it too soon it will crumble. Sprinkle with powder sugar. 

Enjoy! You can find the pan on Amazon

ABOUT REBECCA

I'm a wife & a mama of two little monkeys and in my past life a teacher! I love to decorate (especially for the holidays), cook & bake and the other fun mama stuff - not including all the laundry! 

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page