top of page

We're going on a leaf hunt...

Sometimes staying at home with two little ones is not all that it is cracked up to be! There, I said it. Spending 10+ hours at home with the two of them sometimes causes me to crack! I feel like there are days that by 10 am, I am looking for the wine bottle or a nap!

I have found that most of my stressful days are because the kids are bored! Since we have been up since 7 they have been basically playing with each other for over two hours which leads to fighting or injuries!

I am not sure why I haven't thought of it myself but I was inspired by Pinterest and decided to do mini preschool at home activities! The kids love it! I love it because we get to interact in a positive way together.

My theme this week is "we're going on a leaf hunt."

It was an amazing day, so I found a fall table cloth (which the kids assumed was a blanket), we read stories about leaves and fall, and then we went on our leaf hunt! I found all these books at the local library. However, I cheat because I reserve them online and get a text message when they are ready to be picked up! Mom hack at its finest!

They got so into it! We walked about 3 blocks but they walked so slow because we were busy looking at all the leaves on the ground! It took over 20 minutes which surprised me that their attention span would last that long. They would of looked longer, but it was getting close to nap!

When we got back, we sorted the leaves and placed them in bags that corresponded to that color! It was awesome to see how there little minds were quickly at work!

It is an activity we will do a few more times this fall now that the leaves are fully changing!

ABOUT REBECCA

I'm a wife & a mama of two little monkeys and in my past life a teacher! I love to decorate (especially for the holidays), cook & bake and the other fun mama stuff - not including all the laundry! 

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page